Sociology

Sociology is the study of groups and society and how they affect human thoughts and behaviors. Through scientific study, we pull back the curtain on the interactions and institutions that shape who we are.

Explore the ever-changing social world and your place in it through classes ranging from race to religion, gender to social problems, technology to criminology and more. Course topics may delight you, make you angry, give you something to tweet about or talk about at the dinner table. Most of all, they will make you think about the world and help you to see it in new ways.

Courses

Sociology Courses


Check out the full Course Catalog or follow the individual links below.

Interdisciplinary Social Sciences

Program Support

Qualified students who enroll in the Madison College Honors Program have the opportunity to work one-on-one with a faculty member to research and develop an Honors Project in a particular discipline. By completing an Honors Project, you will receive general elective credits that may count toward your degree or certificate.

Faculty

Full-Time Faculty


Autumn Behringer
Office: B2254, Truax
Phone: (608) 616-3526
Email:
AMBehringer@madisoncollege.edu

 

Michael Billeaux

Office: B2240, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6588

Email: mdbilleaux@madisoncollege.edu
 

Angelika Gulbis
Office: B2250, Truax
Phone: (608) 243-4139 
Email: AGulbis@madisoncollege.edu

Jackie Jebens (Department Chair)
Office: D3618, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6544

Email: JJebens@madisoncollege.edu
 

Martina Kunovic

Office: B2240, Truax

Phone: (608) 616-3406

email: mkunovic@madisoncollege.edu

 

Matthew Sargent
Office: B2246, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6526
Email:
MRSargent@madisoncollege.edu

Dee Soles 
Office: B2254, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6750
Email:
DSoles@madisoncollege.edu
 

Part-Time Faculty


Nadia Assad
Email:
NAssad@madisoncollege.edu

Gabrielle Banick
Email:
GBanick@madisoncollege.edu

Brian Bentel
Email: BBentel@madisoncollege.edu

Amy Grams                
Email:
AGrams@madisoncollege.edu

Laurel Mazar
Email: LMazar@madisoncollege.edu

Agatha Nnazor
Email: ANnazor@madisoncollege.edu

Marline Pearson
Email:
MPearson@madisoncollege.edu

Katherine Phelps

Email: kaphelps@madisoncollege.edu

 

Helen Raatz

Email: HRaatz@madisoncollege.edu

 

Mitchell Ruesink 
Email:
MRuesink@madisoncollege.edu

Cassandra Thompson 
Email:
COThompson@madisoncollege.edu

Certificates

Certificates

Race and Ethnic Studies Certificate

Program number: 908091CERT 

Coordinator: Jackie Jebens, Sociology Department

https://madisoncollege.edu/program/ethnic-studies

 

Race and Ethnic Studies is an interdisciplinary certificate in which you will explore U.S. race and ethnic relations through the varied lenses of literature, history, anthropology, and sociology. These courses can help you broaden your appreciation and knowledge of the diversity of peoples, identities, aesthetics, and cultural traditions that make up the mosaic of the United States.

Race and Ethnic Studies courses will also challenge you to think critically about the roles that race and ethnicity have played in your own life and in the development of the United States. You will develop an understanding of the cultural, social, and political experiences of people of color in the U.S., explore structural inequalities and forms of resistance, and study how race and ethnicity are connected to issues that at first may seem unrelated

 

Gender and Women’s Studies Certificate

Program number: 908093CERT

Coordinators: Autumn Behringer and Angelika Gulbis, Sociology Department

https://madisoncollege.edu/program/gender-women-studies

 

Gender and Women's Studies is an interdisciplinary certificate in which you will explore gender and gender relations through art, literature, history, psychology and sociology. Examine themes related to gender in cultural, historical, social, national and global contexts as you broaden your appreciation and knowledge of gender identities and equality. 

Topics include new themes in gender research and women's studies, visual representations of the sexes, language use by the sexes, power dynamics, gender identities, women's movement politics and generational changes. By understanding diverse life experiences, you will not only gain perspective relevant to your own life. but also develop communication skills employers want in today's workforce.

 

Data Analytics Certificate

Program number: 908092CERT 

Coordinator: Angelika Gulbis, Sociology Department

https://madisoncollege.edu/academics/programs/data-analytics-certificate

 

The Data Analytics Certificate will teach you research skills for use in industry, education and beyond. Gain skills in theory, data collection, data management, data analysis, data visualization and data presentation. We will prepare you to work in academic research environments and for private or public employers. You will graduate with traits employers want, including good communication skills, ethics, logic and critical decision making.

Other Info

Madison College Opportunities and Resources

Sociological Associations

Sociological Websites

Careers

Blogs

Transfer and Advising

Sociology Faculty Advisors

Autumn Behringer
Email: AMBehringer@madisoncollege.edu 

Angelika Gulbis
Email: AGulbis@madisoncollege.edu  

Jackie Jebens

Email: JJebens@madisoncollege.edu

 

Note: Please contact one of the Liberal Arts Transfer Center Advisors if the faculty advisors are not available for an appointment.