Mathematics

Mathematics is one of the fundamental tools used to describe the world around us. Math can be applied to many different situations from computers and rockets to skyscrapers and credit cards. We also know mathematics is an important tool in research, actuarial science, medical field, financial sustainability, construction, electronics, aviation, engineering, just to name a few!

At Madison College, you have the opportunity to explore your interest in mathematics, whether it is to enhance your math skills, or create a foundation in mathematics that aligns with your personal career goals. The mathematics department offers support courses for technical program students and degree transfer mathematics courses. We are a part of the Liberal Arts Transfer Program and also have specific transfer agreements in Computer Science and Engineering. If you’re pursing a certificate, technical diploma, associate degree, or just looking to take some general education classes before you transfer, we have the classes for you taught by faculty who care about your success!

Resources

Options to shorten your math path

Madison College has developed a number of opportunities for students to accelerate their college math journey.

Credit for Prior Learning (CPL)

  • Challenge Exams - You can test out of a course using challenge exams. The following Challenge Exams are available for math:
    • Math with Business Apps (10804123)
    • Math of Finance (10804144)
    • Machine Tool Math 1 (31804381)
    • Vocational Math 1 (31804379)
    • College Tech Math 1/1A/1B (10804115)
    • College Tech Math 2 (10804116)

To find and enroll in the Challenge exams, access them by clicking on the button below and then searching for the exam you need.

View

Accelerated Math Program — AMP
 

Amp Path. It starts on the left with the class “Math Foundations” and then goes into “AMP: Basic & Elementary Algebra” which then leads into the class “Intermediate Algebra” and finally into “College Algebra or other options."

 

  • Take Basic Algebra & Elementary Algebra (2 units + 3 credits, 6 hours/week) together as co-requisite classes
  • Same textbook and teacher
  • Recommended for students who will regularly study and attend class

Is this course right for me?

  • I placed into Sector Math
  • I am a LAT student going into Math, Science, or Health -or- my program requires Elementary Algebra

For more information, contact: Alex Fernandez – Advisor, (608) 259-2905, abfernandez@madisoncollege.edu

Accelerated Reasoning Program — ARP
 

ARP Path. It starts on the left with the class “Math Foundations” and then goes into “ARP: Mathematical Reasoning + Workshop” and finally into “Quantitative Reasoning.”

 

  • Take Mathematical Reasoning + Reasoning Workshop (3 credits + 2 units, 6 hours/week) together as co-requisite classes
  • Same textbook and teacher
  • Recommended for students who will regularly study and attend class

Is this course right for me?   

  • I placed into Sector Math
  • am a LAT student going into Arts & Humanities -or- my program requires Mathematical Reasoning

For more information, contact: Alex Fernandez – Advisor, (608) 259-2905, abfernandez@madisoncollege.edu

The Math Reasoning Path

This math pathway is about changing the way you think about math. Its goal is to improve your math ability by:

  • Teaching you skills, strategies, and content
  • Improving your feelings about your math abilities
  • Building community in the classroom
Path begins with Mathematical Reasoning, shown in left chevron. The next step states “Liberal Arts Transfer – Arts & Humanities students will go on to Quantitative Reasoning” Finally, the chevron on the right shows “Quantitative Reasoning*"


* Quantitative Reasoning counts as the math requirement for an Associate of Arts degree at Madison College and transfers as the required math course for many Bachelor of Arts degree majors in the Arts & Humanities.  As always, check with your transfer school to be sure of their requirements

Listen to what a few students have to say:
 
This image is a still of a youtube video of a student talking about the Reasoning Path. Click on the image to open the video in a separate window.
 
For more information contact Math Instructor, George Alexander at GAlexander@madisoncollege.edu or by calling (608) 246-6187. Or contact Academic Advisor Luis Rey Navarro at LRey@madisoncollege.edu or by calling at (608) 258-2409.
 

How do my classes transfer?

Technical and associate degree program students should check with their program advisor to confirm that they are enrolling in math courses that will meet their program's requirements. Liberal Arts Transfer program students can use Transfer Wisconsin to determine how a specific Madison College math course will transfer to any school in the University of Wisconsin System or Wisconsin Technical College System.

Where to go for help

  • Our Student Achievement Centers offer support for our students. You will have access to peer and instructor tutors at varying days and hours of the week!
  • To get help enrolling or with other advising needs, see How to Register for Classes for help.
  • Our academic advisors are also available to assist you and answer any questions you have. Check out Advising Services for how to contact or schedule an appointment with an advisor
Courses

Mathematics Courses


Check out the full Course Catalog or follow the individual links below.

Program Support

Qualified students who enroll in the Madison College Honors Program have the opportunity to work one-on-one with a faculty member to research and develop an Honors Project in a particular discipline. By completing an Honors Project, you will receive general elective credits that may count toward your degree or certificate.

Faculty

Full-Time Faculty


George Alexander
Office: C2429, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6187
Email: GAlexander@madisoncollege.edu 
Faculty Website

Sarah Bannen
Office: D3619, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6071
Email: SCBannen@madisoncollege.edu 
Faculty Website

Nataliya Batina
Office: D3619, Truax
Phone: (608) 616-3527
Email: NBatina@madisoncollege.edu

Steven Burns
Office: B3223, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6260
Email: SWBurns@madisoncollege.edu

Donald Clewett
Office: B3235, Truax
Email: DClewett@madisoncollege.edu

Karena Curtis
Office: 223, Goodman South
Phone: (608) 246-6616
Email: KMCurtis@madisoncollege.edu

Flynn Dustrud
Office: C3450, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6690
Email: FDustrud@madisoncollege.edu

Ian Falu
Office: C3450, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6545
Email: IFalu@madisoncollege.edu

Ramon Figueroa
Office: B2254, Truax
Phone: (608) 243-4775
Email: RFigueroa@madisoncollege.edu

Amanda Flint
Phone: (608) 246-6681
Email: AMBurton@madisoncollege.edu

John Grade
Office: D2649, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6712
Email: JDGrade@madisoncollege.edu

Jeff Havens
Office: B2254, Truax 
Phone: (608) 246-6575
Email: JHavens@madisoncollege.edu

Pamela Larson
Office: B2200, Truax  
Phone: (608) 246-6286
Email: PRLarson1@madisoncollege.edu

Jong Lee
Office: C2429, Truax  
Phone: (608) 246-6177
Email: Jlee21@madisoncollege.edu

Valerie Maciejewski (Department Co-chair)
Office: D3619, Truax 
Phone: (608) 246-6610
Email: vmaciejewski@madisoncollege.edu

Sheri Parker
Office: E3872, Truax 
Phone: (608) 246-6562
Email: SEParker@madisoncollege.edu

Paul Peeders (Department Co-chair)
Office: B2250, Truax 
Phone: (608) 246-6477
Email: PPeeders@madisoncollege.edu

Natalie Pinkovitz

Office: D2602F, Truax

Phone: (608) 246-6569

Email: NPinkovitz@madisoncollege.edu

 

Tony Przybylski
Office: B3235, Truax
Phone: (608) 259-2903
Email: TPrzybylski@madisoncollege.edu

Bethany Sansing-Helton (Department Co-chair)
Office: D3619, Truax 
Phone: (608) 246-6070
Email: BPSansinghelton@madisoncollege.edu

David Sarocka 
Office: C3450, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6564
Email: DSarocka@madisoncollege.edu

Xuezheng Wu 
Office: C3450, Truax
Phone: (608) 258-2379
Email: XWu@madisoncollege.edu

 

Part-Time Faculty


Harry Cadambi
Email: HCadambi@madisoncollege.edu 

Thomas Crum
Email: TRCrum@madisoncollege.edu

Gerald Darda
Email: GDarda@madisoncollege.edu

Gregory Davis
Email: GDDavis@madisoncollege.edu 

Philip DeCabooter
Email: PHDecabooter@madisoncollege.edu

Patricia Dodd
Email: PLDodd@madisoncollege.edu

Randy Ebright
Email: REbright@madisoncollege.edu

Leigh Froelich
Email: LFroelich@madisoncollege.edu

Ali Fustok
Email: AFustok@madisoncollege.edu

Wendy Harris
Email: WKHarris@madisoncollege.edu

Timothy Heilman
Email: THeilman@madisoncollege.edu

Mark Henschel
Email: MHenschel@madisoncollege.edu

Scott Hopfensperger
Email: SHopfensperger@madisoncollege.edu

Karen Jankowski
Email: KJankowski1@madisoncollege.edu

Tory Joyce
Email: TJoyce@madisoncollege.edu

Oumar Kaba
Email: OKaba@madisoncollege.edu

Robert Kocan
Email: RKocan@madisoncollege.edu

Sharon Kontny
Email: Kontny@madisoncollege.edu

Brianna Lytle
Email: BLytle1@madisoncollege.edu

Wayne Maki
Email: WMaki@madisoncollege.edu

Jonas Meyer
Email: JMeyer11@madisoncollege.edu

Elsayed Mogahed
Email: EMogahed@madisoncollege.edu

Augustin Ndahayo
Email: ABNdahayo@madisoncollege.edu

Abigail Ochberg
Email: AOchberg1@madisoncollege.edu

Salwa Rashad
Email: SRashad@madisoncollege.edu

Rebecca Rossing
Email: RRossing@madisoncollege.edu

Bret Sherfinski
Email: BSherfinski@madisoncollege.edu

Jordan Siewert
Email: JSiewert@madisoncollege.edu

Maurice Smith
Email: MJSmith4@madisoncollege.edu

Peter Theron
Email: DTheron@madisoncollege.edu

Stephanie Thompson
Email: SThompson7@madisoncollege.edu

Peter VanderWegen
Email: PVanderwegen@madisoncollege.edu