Sociology is the study of groups and society and how they affect human thoughts and behaviors. Through scientific study, we pull back the curtain on the interactions and institutions that shape who we are. Explore the ever-changing social world and your place in it through classes ranging from race to religion, gender to social problems, technology to criminology and more.

people gathered together

Featured Sociology Courses

Course topics may delight you, make you angry, give you something to tweet about or talk about at the dinner table. Most of all, they will make you think about the world and help you to see it in new ways.

Introduction to Sociology

Introduces students to the field of Sociology. Defines and examines the concepts and realities of social structure, culture, socialization, complex organizations, class, inequality, social groups and social change.

Race and Ethnicity in the U.S.

Explores how the social constructions of race and ethnicity shape U.S. society and examines structural inequalities and majority-minority group relations. Discusses current policy debates and proposed solutions to inequalities.

Statistics for the Social Sciences

This course provides the learner with an introductory understanding of statistics for the social sciences and how statistics are applied to the social world. Learners will build skills in analytical and critical thinking through the application of quantitative knowledge to social questions.

Sociology Faculty

Full-time Faculty

Autumn Behringer
Office: B2254, Truax
608.616.3526
ambehringer@madisoncollege.edu

Michael Billeaux
Office: B2240, Truax
608.246.6588
mdbilleaux@madisoncollege.edu

Angelika Gulbis
Office: B2250, Truax
608.243.4139
agulbis@madisoncollege.edu

Jackie Jebens (Department Chair)
Office: D3618, Truax
608.246.6544
jjebens@madisoncollege.edu

Martina Kunovic
Office: B2240, Truax
608.616.3406
mkunovic@madisoncollege.edu

Matthew Sargent
Office: B2246, Truax
608.246.6526
mrsargent@madisoncollege.edu

Dee Soles 
Office: B2254, Truax
608.246.6750
dsoles@madisoncollege.edu

Part-time Faculty

Nadia Assad
nassad@madisoncollege.edu

Gabrielle Banick
gbanick@madisoncollege.edu

Brian Bentel
bbentel@madisoncollege.edu

Amy Grams                
agrams@madisoncollege.edu

Laurel Mazar
lmazar@madisoncollege.edu

Agatha Nnazor
annazor@madisoncollege.edu

Marline Pearson
mpearson@madisoncollege.edu

Katherine Phelps
kaphelps@madisoncollege.edu

Helen Raatz
hraatz@madisoncollege.edu

Mitchell Ruesink 
mruesink@madisoncollege.edu

Cassandra Thompson
cothompson@madisoncollege.edu

Sociology Faculty Advisors

Autumn Behringer
ambehringer@madisoncollege.edu

Angelika Gulbis
agulbis@madisoncollege.edu

Jackie Jebens
jjebens@madisoncollege.edu

Contact the School of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences

Madison Truax Campus
Main Building, C2433

1701 Wright Street
Madison, Wisconsin 53704

ahss@madisoncollege.edu         
608.246.6246