Psychology is the scientific study of the mind and behavior. The discipline embraces all aspects of the human experience — from the functions of the brain to the actions of nations, from child development to care for the aged.

Psychology is one of the most popular undergraduate majors and helps prepare for careers in psychology, counseling, law, social services, education, business and many service industries. You can tell your future employer that your understanding of human behavior is essential to being successful in the workplace! Your greater understanding of relationships and the well-being of others is not only useful in your life but also makes you a better supervisor.

illustration of synapses firing

Featured Psychology Courses

Introduction to Psychology

Introduction to Psychology is a study of individual and social behavior including its psychological and physiological bases, development, motivation, emotion, perception, learning and behavior disorders. This course is a prerequisite for several college transfer courses in psychology.

Developmental Psychology

Developmental Psychology covers the principles of human growth and behavioral development, from conception to death. Topics include methods of studying human behavior, theoretical approaches, individual differences, patterns and sequences of development and relationships with peers and others.

Human Sexuality

Human Sexuality covers how intimate relationships develop, how to maintain warmth and closeness in relationships and how sexuality is expressed throughout the life cycle. Also covers practical information regarding sexually transmitted diseases, contraception and pregnancy.

Full-time Psychology Faculty

Justin Aoki, Ph.D.
Office: E3864, Truax
608.243.4279
jaoki@madisoncollege.edu

Jenna Behm-Lawton, Ph.D.
Office: E3868, Truax
608.616.3311
jbehm@madisoncollege.edu

Dawn Delaney, Ph.D. (Department Chair)
Office: B3221, Truax
608.246.6708
ddelaney@madisoncollege.edu

Maryann Dubree
Office: 170, Watertown
920.206.8012
mdubree@madisoncollege.edu

Christopher Dyszelski, Ph.D.
Office: D2649, Truax
608.246.6483
cdyszelski@madisoncollege.edu

Eugenia Friedman
Office: E3880, Truax
608.616.3525
efriedman@madisoncollege.edu

Julia Haseleu, Ph.D.
Office: B3235, Truax
608.246.6509
jhaseleu@madisoncollege.edu

Brad McDowell, M.S.
Office: 308A, Health Education Building, Truax
608.246.6579
bdmcdowell@madisoncollege.edu

Steven Medall. M.A.
Office: E3864, Truax
608.258.2484
smedall@madisoncollege.edu

Trey (Felix) Mireles
Office: 341, West 
608.246.6049
fmireles@madisoncollege.edu

Carola Pförtner, Ph.D.
Office: 233L, Goodman South Campus
608.243.4006
cpfortner@madisoncollege.edu

Part-time Faculty

Each semester, the Psychology Department is joined by highly qualified part-time faculty. These instructors are a vital component of our college and they teach in the Madison metro area and also in Portage, Reedsburg, Fort Atkinson and Watertown. Part-time faculty are a central and much appreciated part of the Madison College Psychology Department!

Please consult the college employee directory for the email and phone of your part-time faculty.

Contact the School of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences

Madison Truax Campus
Main Building, C2433

1701 Wright Street
Madison, Wisconsin 53704

ahss@madisoncollege.edu         
608.246.6246