Mathematics is one of the fundamental tools used to describe the world around us. At Madison College, you have the opportunity to explore your interest in mathematics, whether it is to enhance your math skills, or create a foundation in mathematics that aligns with your personal career goals. 

The Reasoning Path
iframe added here via JS.

Featured Math Courses

The mathematics department offers support courses for technical program students and degree transfer mathematics courses. Check out these featured math courses!

Intermediate Algebra

Intermediate Algebra studies the construction and resulting properties of the real number system. Students are introduced to linear, quadratic, square root, absolute value, exponential, and logarithmic functions. The basic definitions of functions, relations, one-to-one functions, and inverses are discussed along with the algebra and composition of functions.

College Algebra

This course covers skills needed for success in Calculus and many application areas at the baccalaureate level. Topics include the real and complex number systems, polynomials, exponents, radicals, solving equations and inequalities, relations and functions, systems of equations and inequalities, graphing, and conic sections.

Calculus and Analytic Geometry 1

This course covers differential and integral calculus, plane analytic geometry, applications and the properties and uses of elementary transcendental functions. The course provides an introduction to the basic properties of limits, rate of change of functions, continuity, derivatives of algebraic and elementary transcendental functions.

What Math Class Should I Take?

Each of the Liberal Arts Transfer Pre-Majors and the many programs at the college has their own ‘best path’ through math. To find out which math class to take now, and also see the rest of your math journey, click on the button below:

Select a Math Class

Options to Shorten Your Math Path

Madison College has developed a number of opportunities for students to accelerate their college math journey.

Credit for Prior Learning (CPL)

Prerequisite Exams

Satisfy the enrollment requirements/prerequisites for a course by taking and passing a prerequisite exam. The following Prerequisite Exams are available for math:

  • Intermediate Algebra
  • College Algebra / Quantitative Reasoning
  • Math Analysis
  • Calculus and Analytic Geometry 1
  • Basic Statistics

Challenge Exams

You can test out of a course using challenge exams. The following Challenge Exams are available for math:

  • Math with Business Apps (10804123)
  • Math of Finance (10804144)
  • Machine Tool Math 1 (31804381)
  • Vocational Math 1 (31804379)
  • College Tech Math 1/1A/1B (10804115)
  • College Tech Math 2 (10804116)

Full-time Math Faculty

George Alexander
Office: E3858 | Truax
608.246.6187
galexander@madisoncollege.edu

Sarah Bannen | Department Co-chair
Office: D3619 | Truax
608.246.6071
scbannen@madisoncollege.edu

Nataliya Batina
Office: D3619 | Truax
608.616.3527
nbatina@madisoncollege.edu

Steven Burns
Office: B3223 | Truax
608.246.6260
swburns@madisoncollege.edu

Donald Clewett
Office: B3235 | Truax
608.243.4657
dclewett@madisoncollege.edu

Karena Curtis
Office: 223 | Goodman South
608.246.6616
kmcurtis@madisoncollege.edu

Tricia Dodd
Office: C3450E | Truax
608.616.3361
pldodd@madisoncollege.edu

Flynn Dustrud
Office: C3450 | Truax
608.246.6690
fdustrud@madisoncollege.edu

Ian Falu
Office: C3450 | Truax
608.246.6545
ifalu@madisoncollege.edu

Ramon Figueroa
Office: B2254 | Truax
608.243.4775
rfigueroa@madisoncollege.edu

Amanda Flint
Office: 104 | Fort Atkinson
608.246.6681
amburton@madisoncollege.edu

John Grade
Office: D2649 | Truax
608.246.6712
jdgrade@madisoncollege.edu

Jeff Havens
Office: B2254 | Truax 
608.246.6575
jhavens@madisoncollege.edu

Pamela Larson
Office: B2200 | Truax  
608.246.6286
prlarson1@madisoncollege.edu

Jong Lee
Office: E3872 | Truax  
608.246.6177
jlee21@madisoncollege.edu

Sheri Parker
Office: E3872 | Truax 
608.246.6562
separker@madisoncollege.edu

Paul Peeders | Department Co-chair
Office: B2250 | Truax 
608.246.6477
ppeeders@madisoncollege.edu

Natalie Pinkovitz
Office: D2602F | Truax
608.246.6569
npinkovitz@madisoncollege.edu

Tony Przybylski
Office: B3235 | Truax
608.259.2903
tprzybylski@madisoncollege.edu

Bethany Sansing-Helton
Office: D3619 | Truax 
608.246.6070
bpsansinghelton@madisoncollege.edu

David Sarocka 
Office: C3450 | Truax
608.246.6564
dsarocka@madisoncollege.edu

Contact the School of Engineering, Science and Mathematics

Madison Truax Campus
Main Building, C2433

1701 Wright Street
Madison, Wisconsin 53704

esm@madisoncollege.edu
608.246.6246