English courses immerse students in learning experiences that help them to grow as readers and communicators. Students taking our wide range of offerings learn to communicate persuasively in the workplace, compose college-level essays, develop rhetorical awareness, advance their reading comprehension, write creatively and learn to engage with literature from a variety of times and places.

Madison College student writing

Featured English and Reading Courses

The department offers courses that meet requirements in Madison College’s occupational programs as well at the four-year institutions where many of our students plan to transfer. Our courses are flexible as well, offering online and short-term courses beyond the more "traditional" semester-long experience.

English 1

The first course in communication skills at the college level, developing student abilities in critical reading, writing, listening, and speaking, for both exposition and argumentation.

Intro to Literature

Recommended as a first course in literary analysis, this course introduces students to the major genres of literature and addresses issues related to writing about literature and/or other texts. Individual sections may focus on a particular literary theme or emphasis.

Intro College Reading and Study Skills

This course provides learners with opportunities to develop study skills and expand reading skills including comprehension, fluency and vocabulary skills.

Full-time Faculty

English

Paul Barribeau (Department Co-Chair)
Office: 159, Watertown
920.206.8040
pbarribeau@madisoncollege.edu

Laurie Benda
Office: B2250, Truax
608.246.6570
lbenda@madisoncollege.edu

Renee Cairns
Office: E3858, Truax
608.246.4038
rmcairns@madisoncollege.edu

Rachel Carrales
Office: E3856
608.243.4338
rcarrales@madisoncollege.edu

Cherif A. Correa
Office: E3868, Truax
608.243.4173
ccorrea@madisoncollege.edu

John W. Drake
Office: C2429, Truax
608.246.6513
jwdrake@madisoncollege.edu

Gwen Ebert
Office: D3619, Truax
608.828.7917
glebert@madisoncollege.edu

John G. Galligan
Office: E3872 B
608.246.6580
jgalligan@madisoncollege.edu

Suzanne C. Gittleman
Office: D2649, Truax
608.246.6522
sgittleman@madisoncollege.edu

Matthew Guenette
Office: B3237
608.246.6539
mguenette@madisoncollege.edu

Bernardo W. Hoes (Department Co-Chair)
Office: E3888, Truax
608.243.4220
bhoes@madisoncollege.edu

Sarah Z. Johnson
Office: E3858, Truax
608.246.6595
szjohnson@madisoncollege.edu

James G. Magruder
Office: D2604, Truax
608.246.6694
jmagruder@madisoncollege.edu

John E. Opel
Office: C2429, Truax
608.246.6617
jopel@madisoncollege.edu

Kevin C. Piper
Office: B3223, Truax
608.616.3456
kcpiper@madisoncollege.edu

Tara Ptasnik
Office: C3446, Truax
608.246.6507
tptasnik@madisoncollege.edu

Anna V. Purnell
Office: E3888A, Truax
608.333.2662
apurnell@madisoncollege.edu

Marty Richards
Office: B3223, Truax
608.246.6623
mrichards@madisoncollege.edu

Martha Schwer
Office: D3619, Truax
608.246.6172
schwer@madisoncollege.edu

Joshua Stokdyk
Office: D2606
608.616.3503
stokdyk@madisoncollege.edu

Tim Twohill
Office: B3221, Truax
608.246.6293
ttwohill@madisoncollege.edu

Reading

Julie Monroe
Office: B2250, Truax
608.246.4765
jmonroe@madisoncollege.edu

Part-time Faculty

English

Brian Ashland
ashland@madisoncollege.edu

Jaqueline Baker
jvbaker@madisoncollege.edu

John Bergstrom
jbergstrom@madisoncollege.edu

Nina Bricko
nmbricko@madisoncollege.edu

Jimmy Cheffen Jr.
jcheffenjr@madisoncollege.edu

Leesa Collett
lcollett@madisoncollege.edu

Cynthia D. Carlson
cdcarlson@madisoncollege.edu

Robert L. Curry, Jr.
rcurryjr@madisoncollege.edu

Morgan Harlow
mharlow@madisoncollege.edu

Katie Hartman
kjhartman@madisoncollege.edu

Elizabeth S. Horikawa
ehorikawa@madisoncollege.edu

Marilee A. Jessup
mjessup@madisoncollege.edu

Natasha Kassulke
nkassulke@madisoncollege.edu

Katherine Lydon
klydon@madisoncollege.edu

Jessica Marshall
jwedemeyer@madisoncollege.edu

Marie L. Martini
mmartini@madisoncollege.edu

Anne McIntyre
afmcintyre@madisoncollege.edu

Jacob Mertins
jmertins1@madisoncollege.edu

Virgil Miller
vrmiller@madisoncollege.edu

Michelle Moore
mlmoore@madisoncollege.edu

Theresa Mouchayleh
temouchayleh@madisoncollege.edu

Kristen K. Muir
kkmuir@madisoncollege.edu

Kathleen M. Newport
knewport@madisoncollege.edu

Micah Nierode
mnierode@madisoncollege.edu

Nadine Norland
nnorland@madisoncollege.edu

Tracy Poches
tpoches@madisoncollege.edu

John Pruitt
jpruitt1@madisoncollege.edu

Stephanie Robey
srobey@madisoncollege.edu

Aaron Schneider
ajschneider1@madisoncollege.edu

Virginia Schwarz
vmschwarz@madisoncollege.edu

Jamie L. Steckelberg
jsteckelberg@madisoncollege.edu

Marihelen D. Stoltz
mdstoltz@madisoncollege.edu

Catherine Stover
cstover1@madisoncollege.edu

Nicole Tilleson
njhines@madisoncollege.edu

Beth L. Torrison
btorrison@madisoncollege.edu

Arthur Upham
aupham@madisoncollege.edu

Christopher Welch
cfwelch@madisoncollege.edu

William M. Yazbec
wyazbec@madisoncollege.edu

Reading

Ruth A. Adams
radams@madisoncollege.edu

Susan Eldred-Kujawa
seldredkujawa@madisoncollege.edu

Jennifer Grandone
jgrandone@madisoncollege.edu

Kay Guberud
kguberud@madisoncollege.edu

Kathy L. Jochman
kljochman@madisoncollege.edu

Michelle Monzo
mmonzo@madisoncollege.edu

Donna Thomas
ddthomas@madisoncollege.edu

Barbara Williams
bwilliams13@madisoncollege.edu

Contact the School of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences

Madison Truax Campus
Main Building, C2433

1701 Wright Street
Madison, Wisconsin 53704

ahss@madisoncollege.edu         
608.246.6246