The Madison College chemistry department allows you to engage in scientific inquiry. You will participate in lab exercises and develop a chemical understanding of the world around you.

students in chemistry lab

Featured Chemistry Courses

Whether you're a beginner or a seasoned lab rat, students can check out these featured chemistry courses.

General Chemistry

This course covers the fundamentals of chemistry. Topics include: the metric system; problem solving; periodic relationships; chemical reactions; chemical equilibrium; acids bases and salts; and gas laws.

General, Organic and Biological Chemistry

This course covers a broad range of topics suitable for many allied-health fields. Topics covered during the general chemistry portion of the course include measurement, problem solving, periodic table, chemical reactions, radioactivity, gases, solutions and acid-base behaviors.

College Chemistry 1

The first semester of a two-semester sequence in college chemistry that includes the topics of measurement, chemical nomenclature, chemical reactions and stoichiometry, atomic structure, gas laws, thermochemistry, chemical bonding and solution chemistry.

Chemistry Faculty

Troy Cayou | Area Coordinator for Biology, Chemistry and Physical Education
Office: D2649 | Truax
608.246.6642
tcayou@madisoncollege.edu

Linda Craft | Full-time Chemistry Faculty
Office: 233U | Goodman South
608.246.6261
lncraft@madisoncollege.edu

Nilhan Gunasekera | Full-time Chemistry Faculty
Office: C3446 | Truax
608.243.4003
ngunasekera@madisoncollege.edu

Jennifer Jackowski | Area Coordinator for Engineering
Office: D2649 | Truax
608.246.6531
jjjackowski@madisoncollege.edu

Alexis Middleton | Full-time Chemistry Faculty
Office: D2649 | Truax
608.616.3436
ammiddleton@madisoncollege.edu

 

Amy Payne | Full-time Chemistry Faculty
Office: D2606 | Truax
608.246.6608
acpayne@madisoncollege.edu

Marissa Rosen | Full-time Chemistry Faculty
Office: D3619 | Truax
608.246.6578
mcrosen@madisoncollege.edu

Christen Smith | Department Chair
Office: D2649 | Truax
608.243.4174
cbsmith@madisoncollege.edu

Jeannine Szczech | Full-time Chemistry Faculty
Office: D2606 | Truax
608.616.3517
jszczech@madisoncollege.edu

Ken Walz | Full-time Chemistry Faculty
Office: C3444 | Truax
608.246.6521
kwalz@madisoncollege.edu

 

Contact the School of Engineering, Science and Mathematics

Madison Truax Campus
Main Building, C2433

1701 Wright Street
Madison, Wisconsin 53704

esm@madisoncollege.edu
608.246.6246